Ten moments have been selected for New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year – the only category where the winner is decided by the public at the 59th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards.

Voting has opened for the award which gives the New Zealand public the opportunity to choose the nation’s most exciting, remarkable, or compelling sporting moment, game or series.

The highlights feature moments from eight sports, with nominations from National Sports Organisations and a Voting Academy of sports media. The latter also voted to select the shortlist of 10 finalists.

The full list of New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year finalists are:

1. Zoi Sadowski-Synnott and Nico Porteous win gold on the same day at the FIS World Championships in Aspen. March 2021 (snow sports)

2. Emirates Team NZ – drama in Race eight of the 36th America’s Cup final to beat Luna Rossa. March 2021 (sailing)

3. Black Cap Ross Taylor hitting the winning runs to secure the inaugural ICC World Test Cricket Championship for New Zealand against India at Southampton. June 2021 (cricket)

4. Rowing Men’s Eight win Gold at the Tokyo Olympics. July 2021 (rowing)

5. The New Zealand Olympic Women’s Rugby 7s Team win gold at the Tokyo Olympics. July 2021 (rugby)

6. Rower Emma Twigg wins gold in the Women’s Olympic single sculls at Tokyo on her fourth attempt. July 2021 (rowing)

7. Triathlete Hayden Wilde claiming bronze and an emotional interview to kick off the NZ Olympic medal run at the Tokyo Olympics. June 2021 (triathlon)

8. Ruby Tui gives an entertaining post-match interview seen around the world, following the New Zealand Olympic Women’s Rugby 7s Team victory over ROC. July 2021 (rugby)

9. Trampolinist Dylan Schmidt winning bronze to claim New Zealand’s first ever gymnastics medal at the Tokyo Olympics. July 2021 (gymnastics)

10. Lisa Carrington paddling to victory at Tokyo in the K1 500m to become the country’s most successful Olympian. August 2021 (canoe racing)

How to vote:

You can vote once-a-day at www.halbergawards.co.nz from now until 9.00pm on Wednesday 23 February 2022.

The winner of New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year will be announced at the 59th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards ceremony on Wednesday 23 February at Spark Arena in Auckland and will be broadcast live on Sky Sport and Prime TV from 8pm.

“New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment is a popular part of the Awards for both the athletes and fans. We are sure it will create much interest and involvement from the public who will decide the winner,” says Shelley McMeeken, Chief Executive of the Halberg Foundation.

The Awards were created by Olympic champion Sir Murray Halberg (ONZ, MBE) in 1963 to honour sporting excellence and as a major fundraiser for the Halberg Foundation – his charity which aims to enhance the lives of physically disabled young New Zealanders by enabling them to participate in sport and recreation.

The Halberg Foundation has a team of Advisers around the country who connect physically disabled young people to sport and recreation opportunities, they also deliver an Inclusion Training course on adapting physical activity and assist clubs, schools and organisations to provide inclusive events and programmes. The Halberg Games is a three-day national sports competition for physically disabled young people.