Home of the
ISPS Handa Halberg Awards

The Halberg Awards is a New Zealand’s premiere event recognising and honouring outstanding achievements in New Zealand sports.

The event showcases the best of New Zealand’s sporting talent, highlighting exceptional performances, records broken, and inspiring stories of dedication and perseverance. The Awards ceremony brings together athletes, celebrities, and sports enthusiasts for a night of glitz and glamour, where the nation pays tribute to the sports heroes who have made a lasting impact on the sporting community.

The Halberg Awards aren’t just a night of glamour and celebration; they’re also the powerhouse behind Sir Murray’s extraordinary charity, the Halberg Foundation. As the major annual fundraising event, the Awards play a vital role in empowering New Zealanders with physical disabilities to unleash their sporting prowess and dive headfirst into the world of recreation.

Your 61st Halberg Award Winners

Supreme Halberg Award winner

Dame Lisa Carrington

 Canoe Racing

HPSNZ Sportswoman of the Year winner

Dame Lisa Carrington

Canoe Racing

Finalists: Courtney Duncan (motocross), Ellesse Andrews (cycling – track), Dame Lisa Carrington (sprint kayak), Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snow sport)

ISPS Handa Team of the Year winner

Black Ferns Sevens


Finalists: All Blacks (rugby-union), All Black Sevens (rugby-sevens), New Zealand Warriors (rugby-league), Women’s K4 500m (canoe racing).

ISPS Handa Sportsman on the Year winner

Aaron Gate


Finalists: Ardie Savea (rugby-union), Paul Coll (squash), Ryan Fox (golf), Shane van Gisbergen (motorsport)

ISPS Handa Para Athlete/Para Team of the Year winner

Cameron Leslie

Para swimming and Wheelchair rugby

Finalists: Anna Taylor (Para cycling), Danielle Aitchison (Para athletics), Lisa Adams (Para athletics), Nicole Murray (Para cycling)

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year winner

Gordon Walker

Canoe Racing

Finalists: Cory Sweeney (rugby-sevens), Ian Foster (rugby-union), Lars Humer (swimming), Sean Thompson (snow sports)

Sky Sport Emerging Talent winner

Julian David


Finalists: Erice Van Leuven (cycling-mountain bike), Lucia Georgalli (snow sports), Milly Clegg (football), Tara Vaughan (canoe racing)

NZ’s Favourite Sporting Moment

One NZ Warriors

Sport New Zealand Leadership award winner

Sir Wayne Smith