Dame Lisa Carrington has received the supreme Halberg Award during the 59th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards ceremony at Spark Arena in Auckland tonight and broadcast live on Sky Sport and Prime TV.

Nine awards were presented during the celebration of New Zealand sporting excellence from 1 December 2019 to 30 November 2021 – a two-year period reflecting the impact of COVID-19 on global sporting competitions. The live event was also adapted due to ‘Red’ guidelines, with only 100 guests.

The Awards is the major fundraiser for the Halberg Foundation – the charity of Sir Murray Halberg (ONZ, MBE) which supports physically disabled young New Zealanders to be active in sport and recreation.  A charity auction of sporting memorabilia and experiences including a chef at home experience with Eric Murray is live on TradeMe here.

Carrington who claimed three gold medals at the Tokyo Olympics was named the High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year earlier in the night, before being presented the supreme Halberg Award honours by Her Excellency The Right Honourable Dame Cindy Kiro, GNZM, QSO, Governor-General of New Zealand.

Dame Sophie Pascoe won the ISPS Handa Para Athlete/Team of the Year Award in recognition of her haul of two gold, a silver and bronze medal at the Tokyo Paralympics, the seventh time she has won the category.

The Black Caps were named the ISPS Handa Team of the Year for winning the 2021 ICC World Test Championship and becoming the world number one ODI ranked team in the world. Captain Kane Williamson also won the ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year after leading his team to multiple successes.

Gordon Walker was named the Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year for the fourth time after guiding the Women’s Canoe Sprint team to three golds in Tokyo.

Swimmer Erika Fairweather received the Sky Sport Emerging Talent Award after her outstanding Olympic debut in Tokyo at just 17 years of age where she was placed 8th in the Freestyle final.

During the evening Rower Emma Twigg winning gold in the Women’s Olympic single sculls at Tokyo on her fourth attempt was named New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment, the only category chosen by the public.

Kereyn Smith was presented the Sport New Zealand Leadership Award for her role as chief executive and secretary general of the New Zealand Olympic Committee.

Full list of winners and finalists for the 59th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards

Halberg Award winner: Dame Lisa Carrington (canoe racing)

Finalists: Dame Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming), Kane Williamson (cricket), The Blackcaps (cricket).

ISPS Handa Para Athlete/Team of the Year winner: Dame Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming)

Finalists: Anna Grimaldi (Para athletics), Holly Robinson (Para athletics), Lisa Adams (Para athletics), Tupou Neiufi (Para swimming).

ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year winner: Kane Williamson (cricket)

Finalists: Hamish Bond (rowing), Paul Coll (squash), Scott Dixon (motorsport).

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year winner: Dame Lisa Carrington (canoe racing)

Finalists: Courtney Duncan (motocross), Emma Twigg (rowing), Lydia Ko (golf), Sarah Hirini (rugby sevens).

ISPS Handa Team of the Year winner: Black Caps (cricket)

Finalists: The New Zealand Olympic Women’s Rugby 7’s (rugby sevens), Emirates Team New Zealand (sailing), Rowing Men’s Eight (rowing), Women’s Pair Kerri Gowler and Grace Prendergast (rowing).

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year winner: Gordon Walker (canoe racing)

Finalists: Allan Bunting and Cory Sweeney (rugby sevens), Gary Stead (cricket), Tony O’Connor (rowing).

Sky Sport Emerging Talent winner: Erika Fairweather (swimming)

Finalists: Connor Bell (athletics), Cool Wakushima (snowboarding), Grace Nweke (netball), Marko Stamenic (football).

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award winner: Kereyn Smith

New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment winner: Emma Twigg (rowing)

Finalists: Zoi Sadowski-Synnott and Nico Porteous, (snow sports), Emirates Team NZ (sailing), Ross Taylor (cricket), Rowing Men’s eight (rowing), The New Zealand Olympic Women’s Rugby 7’s (rugby sevens), Hayden Wilde (triathlon), Ruby Tui (rugby sevens), Dylan Schmidt (gymnastics), Dame Lisa Carrington (canoe racing).